Keogh, Sr. Judge Joseph F.
A retired district judge and a resident of Baton Rouge, he died at 10:40 p.m. Wednesday, May 15, 1996, at Baton Rouge General Medical Center. He was 64 and a native of Louisiana. Visiting at Rabenhorst Funeral Home, 825 Government St., noon to 9 p.m. Friday and after 9 a.m. Saturday. Religious services at the funeral home at 11 a.m. Saturday. Entombment at Greenoaks Memorial Park Mausoleum. Survived by wife, Julie P. Keogh; three daughters, Kristen, Colleen and Mary; three sons, Kevin, Ryan and Joseph Jr.; and a brother Reggie Keogh. Pallbearers will be Walter Krousel Jr., Sean McGlynn, John McGregor, Jerry McKernan, John Cox, Judge Foster Sanders, Richard Smith and Kirk Pastorick. Honorary pallbearers are Danny McGlynn, Alan McGlynn, Karl Krousel, Walter Krousel III, Kenneth Antee, Wally Edwards, Judge Melvin Shortess, Steve Wilson, Scottie Maxwell and Paul Miller. He was reared and educated in the public schools of Baton Rouge, graduated from Istrouma High School in 1950, and LSU School of Law in 1955, admitted to practice law in State of Louisiana (all courts), U.S. District Court for Middle Eastern and Western Districts of Louisiana, U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, U.S. Supreme Court, actively engaged in the practice of law for 28 years prior to judgeship, practiced civil litigation law with firm of Franklin and Keogh from 1976-81, and founding senior partner of the law firm of Keogh, Cox and Wilson, Baton Rouge from 1981-84. He was a member of the Board of Governors of the Piedmont Club from 1962-65, Sixth Congressional District Representative on the Council of the Louisiana State Junior Bar Association from 1963-68, member of the Baton Rouge, Louisiana and American Bar associations, member of the Federation of Insurance Counsel, named Baton Rouge Junior Chamber of Commerce "Outstanding Young Man of the Year" for 1964, member of the Louisiana State House of Representatives from 1964-1968, past chairman of the Joint Legislative Committee for the compilation of the Louisiana Code of Administrative Procedure, member of the Louisiana State Law Institute, vice president and board member of the Baton Rouge March of Dimes from 1967-84. He served as parish attorney from 1969-79, president of the Louisiana City Attorneys Association from 1974-75, and special counsel, city of Baton Rouge from 1979-84, East Baton Rouge Parish. He was a member of Baton Rouge Irish Club, having served as former president and twice grand marshall, member of the Louisiana State Supreme Court Judicial Committee on Selection of Judges, American Judges Association, DWI Task Force Evaluation Team, American Inns of Court, Dean McMahon Chapter, LSU School of Social Studies Welfare Work Advisory Board, LSU Paralegal School Advisory Board, board member of Baton Rouge Area Alcohol and Drug Center since its founding in 1972 and president from 1987-89, member of Louisiana State Supreme Court Time Standards Committee, member of executive committee of Louisiana District Judges Association and committee for Jeffersonian Principles of Government and member and former chairman of the board for Detox Center of Baton Rouge. He was a faculty member of LSU Paralegal Studies School from 1988-93, and litigation professor, Louisiana delegate from 1992-94 National Conference of Trial Judges at ABA annual meetings in San Francisco, Louisiana district judge of criminal division for three years in the 19th Judicial District Court in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana District Judge of civil division for nine years, 19th Judicial District Court in East Baton Rouge Parish, presiding judge in the Champion Insurance Co. liquidation case from 1989-present and chief judge of 19th Judicial District Court from July 1, 1994 to June 30, 1995. He was treasurer of Louisiana District Judges Association from 1994-1995, secretary of Louisiana District Judges Association from 1995-96, author of numerous professional articles and lectures at many C.L.E. seminars, member of LSU English Department, Readers and Writers and vice-chairman of the American Br Association, Judicial Ethics and Responsibility Committee from 1992 to present. .
This page created with Web Slide Show -